Applying for jobs is a bit shit. 

I couldn’t think of a snappier title. Cos it’s true isn’t it! I have just been sent the “thank you for attending the interview but you didn’t get the job. Thanks but no thanks” email following a face to face interview yesterday that I drove an hour and a half for and spent £100 on a new outfit. This had been preceded by a Skype call and a phone interview. Basically for a month this has consumed me a little. And to be honest after the interview yesterday I didn’t really want the job, I wanted the money. I really wanted the money, my income would double which would have been nice. 

But it has given me a kick up the arse to aim a bit higher for myself. I got through to the last 3 interviewees which is great but I could tell as soon as the client met me yesterday that I wasn’t what she wanted. I bet it was my hair. Lol. Not in a bad way but it was very obvious I wasn’t what she was looking for and then she didn’t ask me many specific questions so her mind was made up straight away. I’ve interviewed enough people myself to know the “not interested” face and attitude. 

But for the first time I really am ok about it. Pete gave me a pep talk about what was the worst that could happen and since that’s not getting the job, it’s not that bad. He was right. Again. Bastard. It wasn’t meant to be and that’s cool. I’m sure the person she chose is perfect and the perfect role for me is right around the corner. 

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to. I shall keep you posted on the self imposed ass kicking. I actually do that when running but that’s a whole other post. Or maybe I should never tell anyone that again…

Leave a Reply

