Memories. 

I’ve always been a bit shit at taking pictures. Not that I’m not very good at it, I just don’t do it. I’m generally enjoying myself and forget. And to be honest some of the times I have the best photographs, I didn’t have the best time. Not sure if that’s coincidence or not. 

Anyway, my little boy is growing up fast. And I try and take one picture a day at the very least, it’s a thing I decided when he was about 6 months old. Luckily the PND didn’t stop me taking pics but I wish I had more from before 6 months cos they were sporadic. But beyond shoving a camera in his face, since he now steals my phone if he can see it so I often end up with a picture of the floor, I am consciously trying to commit every beautiful moment to memory. He is changing constantly and I want to remember everything. 

Everyday there is a tear inducing moment that makes me so proud to be Frankie’s momma. Every single day. Whether it’s just a little kiss that he has stopped playing to come and give me or a delighted little giggle at jumping in a puddle or the little pat he gives me on my shoulder when I’m carrying him. He does things that make my heart melt and break at the same time and I can’t help but think that soon he won’t need me in the same way he does now. It’s so hard to think that I will have to let him go a little at a time before he eventually has to go to school. Pete says I’m not allowed to homeschool him. Which I suppose is fair. But still, he’s mine and I want to keep him forever. 

Anyway, I’m crying now and anticipate being an embarrassment of a mother for the rest of my life. I’m ok with that to be honest. This shit should be more documented, the huge wall of love and emotion that smacks you in the face is something that you need to prepare for a little more!! 

Leave a Reply

